2022 Giller Prize finalists include Billy-Ray Belcourt, Sheila Heti

Independent publishers dominate the long list of the 2022 Giller Prize.

The list of 14 books currently competing for the $100,000 prize was announced Tuesday by 2021 prize winner Omar El Akkad in St. John’s, Newfoundland, as the rest of the country watched on the prize’s Facebook channel. , with the harbor and a foggy day providing a scenic backdrop.

Announcing the long list, El Akkad, who won for his book “What Strange Paradise”, explained how winning changes a writer’s life and “gave me so many opportunities”. He also joked that “if you’re nominated for this award, it can often be an overwhelming experience”, not least because it will include battles on TikTok and Twitter where the authors will be CC’d for “no discernible reason. “. Enjoy it.”

The long list, which in this 29th year of the Giller Prize has been whittled down from 138 publisher submissions, includes:

Billy Ray Belcourt, for his novel “A Minor Chorus” (Hamish Hamilton); he won the 2018 Griffin Prize for his debut collection of poetry “This Wound Is A World”; her debut memoir “A History Of My Brief Body” was also acclaimed. It is his first novel.

Kim Fufor his collection of short stories,Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century(Coach House Books) which the Star’s reviewer called “thoughtful, inventive and intelligent…a balm for anxious pandemic states of mind.”

Rawi Hagefor his collection of short stories,Stray dogs», (Knopf Canada). No stranger to listing his novels, this is the debut collection of short stories by Montreal writer Hage, which our reviewer says “reaffirms his dedication to acting as a witness to the restless lives turned upside down by history and tides”.

Sheila Hetifor his novelpure color(Knopf Canada) in which God considers the first draft of his creation.

Sheila Heti's latest book

Andre Forgetfor his novel “In the City of Pigs” (Dundurn Press)

Brian Thomas Isaacfor her novel, “All The Quiet Places,” (Touchwood Editions)

Conor Kerrfor his novel “Avenue of Champions” (Nightwood Editions)

Suzette Mayr, for his novel “The Sleeping Car Porter” (Coach House Books)

Nour Nagafor his novel, “If an Egyptian Can’t Speak English (Graywolf Press)

Andre Narbonne, for his novel “Lucien & Olivia” (Black Moss Press)

Dimitri Nasrallahfor his novel “Hotline”, (Véhicule Press)

Fawn Parkerfor his novelWhat we both know(McClelland & Stewart) which the Star reviewer called “a gripping punch of a novel.”

Tsering Yangzom Lamafor his novelWe measure the Earth with our bodies(McClelland & Stewart) about which our reviewer said “we will remember its main purpose: the tenacious identity of a people forever driven from their homes”.

Anthony Wilsonfor his novel “Mouth To Mouth” (Simon & Schuster Canada)

The five-person jury was made up of Canadian authors Casey Plett (Jury President), Kaie Kellough, Waubgeshig Rice, and American authors, Katie Kitamura and Scott Spencer.

The shortlist will be announced on September 27; the Giller Prize will be awarded at a gala ceremony on 7 November.

The Giller Prize was founded by a businessman and philanthropist Jack Rabinovitch in 1994 to honor his wife, Doris Giller, former editor of the Toronto Star, who died of cancer in 1993. The prize then was $25,000. This year, the winner receives $100,000 and each of the shortlisted finalists receives $10,000.

Comments are closed.